top of page

Classroom Spotlight: 2nd Grade

Have you ever wondered what a normal day in a Spanish Immersion classroom looks like? Perhaps you have had a chance to spend some time in one of our classrooms, but I know many of you haven't. So I've been popping into 2nd grade the last few weeks to sneak a peek and grab some photos to give you a glimpse into their learning environment.

Stepping into 2nd grade is different than stepping into our kindergarten or even first grade classrooms because you immediately get the sense that these students feel quite comfortable and confident with their 2nd language. In fact, when I speak in English, to them or their teacher, they are quick to point out that I am NOT following classroom protocol. So I do my best to communicate at least a few words of my message in this foreign language that has become so seemingly natural to them.

Another thing you will notice after only a few minutes is what a close knit group they are. Of course, being our brave, small, first-ever immersion class at LCS, it makes sense that these students would be so comfortable with each other, but it is still so neat to see them interact with and watch out for each other.

The next thing I noticed, as I observed a math class, was the deep thinking taking place by our students. They were not merely solving math problems, but also selecting strategies and explaining them to one another. Another one of the learning activities students engaged in before Christmas was reading about different schools from around the world. They compared and contrasted the schools in writing and pictures, and it made me think about the fact that, apart from the difference in language, much of their day is like any other LCS student's school day. As a parent, I hope this is something you find extremely encouraging. After all, I'm guessing that when you chose immersion, you wanted your student to not ONLY learn a new language, but all of the regular elementary curriculum as well. So with that in mind, I hope you enjoy this video that is meant to show you a bit about what a typical day in 2nd grade is like.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page